Saturday, March 26, 2011

Packer NSAnti-gen - found and then disappears

Dell Inspiron 9400
Intel Core 2 CPU
32 bit - 2GB
Vista Home Premium
Service Packs, updates and anti-virus all up to date

Last time I ran adaware there was a pop up saying it had found Packer.NSAnti-gen process and I had to wait until the end of the scan to remove it.

Come the end of the scan, I rescanned using Adaware, Security Essentials and Malwarebytes and they found nothing, not even in safe mode.

Can anyone tell me if it was a false positive? Any ideas how I should go about removing? Is it still there at all? Does anyone know what it does? I've searched the forums but can't find anything germane so...... help, please

I don't know where it came from but there's a teenager looking shifty.

AC

Reply 1 : Packer NSAnti-gen - found and then disappears

Catherine..

Did you delete the photo frame? If that's when Ad-Aware detected it, and you removed it, it shouldn't be a problem. It might also help to clean your temporary files.

IF you still have it installed, and wish to be sure it's safe to keep, you can upload the file to VirusTotal. It's an online scanner, which analyzes suspicious files.

Hope this helps..
Carol

Reply 2 : Packer NSAnti-gen - found and then disappears

You stated in your post (elsewhere) Ad-Aware 'flashed up a warning'. I take that to mean you have Ad-Aware running in real-time.

DO you have both AAW and MSE installed?

Reply 3 : Packer NSAnti-gen - found and then disappears

Yes I have aaware and MSE, but only the free AAware - I was running a full scan when the pop-up er... popped up and disappeared. Neither now find anything at all. This seems to be a really old trojan and there is very little information about it. At least in places that I can access.

Thanks for all suggestions

Wall mount speakers

I have purchased an old amplifier and it is connected to red and black wires to every room in my apartment. I would like to purchase wall mounted speakers so I could listen to the amplifier output in every room but I can't find any. Is that technology moribund. Is it all MP3 iPod now? I had some in wall JBL speakers placed in my old home 6 years ago. Now I can't find them for sale anymore.

Reply 1 : Wall mount speakers

You aren't limited to brick and mortar stores, luckily. There's this crazy thing called google. You're welcome wink.

http://www.google.com/search?q=wall+mounted+speakers&hl=en&tbs=shop%3A1&aq=f

Reply 2 : Wall mount speakers

Thank you Pepe. I had googled wall mounted speakers and I did not come up with the page you did so I didn't find those speakers. I will use your link to buy some.

Copying a music CD into a folder when you have iTunes

I can't seem to be able to copy a CD into a folder as a wmv file...always defaults to iTunes. Any way to do it without involving iTunes?

Reply 1 : Copying a music CD into a folder when you have iTunes

to rip the CD?

Friday, March 25, 2011

Playing video from computer to TV and can't get sound back

I have a Dell laptop running Windows 7. LG HD widescreen TV.

I connected my computer to the TV last night with an HDMI cable and played a couple of video clips on the TV and everything worked fine (including sound playing through the TV speakers). After finishing, I just unplugged the HDMI cable and turned both off.

Today, I went to use my computer and found the sound not working. I looked in the sound mixer and saw that it was trying to play sound through the HDMI port so I disabled it and sound started playing fine through the computer speakers again.

Later, I plugged the computer back into the TV but when I went to play a video the sound didn't feed to the TV and kept coming out of the computer speakers. I went everywhere I could find in the Sound settings on the computer and cannot find that HDMI option to enable it again.

Any suggestions on how I get to that setting? I know it's just a matter of reconfiguring or enabling that port or driver, but I just can't find it.

Thanks!

I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

Over the years I build a large collection of cd, music & film, and today I would to store them in my hardrive. I know how to copy them one at the time but wonder if there an hardware into which i can put, say 20 cd, and copy them to my hard drive ?
I use window

Thanks a lot
Yann

Reply 1 : I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

Did you want to save to an external drive, or internal drive? Basically same principal, insert disk, open my computer, right click on drive icon, send to selected location.

Reply 2 : I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

But if you put..say 5 to 10 cd per day, that shouldn't take that long. You be done with the WHOLE thing in no time. The old saying about "a journey start with a single step is true". Go to it and good luck.

Reply 3 : I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

So you want an optical device that you can put multiple cd's into and it will cycle through them and transfer the data to your HD.

I'm not aware of such a thing....not to say it does not exist.

If it exist it would be a specialty item and the price would be in the 'nose bleed' area.

Reply 4 : I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

Thank for your comments.
I did not make myself clear enough, sorry about that.
I have hundreds of cd, and copying them one by one is very tedious. I am wondering if I can buy a rack of cd player, such as the cd duplicator, somewhere.

Thanks again
Yann

Reply 5 : I would like to copy my cd to my hard drive

I can assure you, you can have many many player, but it will not decrease your time by that much. I believed duplicator are for making discs copy and not copying discs to harddrive. However, if you have many computer doing the job then your time should be shorten accordingly. Anyway, good luck in your search for the solution.

Here is one solution is sure to work. Pay someone to do it for you.

Can't get my audio to output through HDMI (ATI)

I tried to look for previous threads on the topic but ended up with alot of threads about the old m15 and others regarding nvidia cards.



I have a 5850 GPU and was running IDT for my sound management but I've now removed it. My video outputs perfectly through HDMI but I get no sound. My audio devices says that my ATI HDMI audio is unplugged and therefore cannot be chosen to output my audio and I've read page after page of other people with the problem but so far no fix has worked for me.

Reply 1 : Can't get my audio to output through HDMI (ATI)

I had the same issue, and it was down to my HDMI cable. At first I brought a Display Port to HDMI cable which was sold as 'working with audio', but clearly didnt. As soon as I used a known working HDMI cable (with the bundled display port to HDMI adapotor) it worked fine... Obviously, this was my issue, may be completly different for you, but may be worth eliminating the cable as the problem. If you have somewhere / someone else who can test it (between your Blu-ray / DVD player and TV for instance?)



Boz

Reply 2 : Can't get my audio to output through HDMI (ATI)

I dont have anywhere else to test it as nothing else uses display port

Reply 3 : Can't get my audio to output through HDMI (ATI)

Do you have the display port to HDMI adaptor that came with the laptop? I know not everyone got one with there laptop, but if you did, try that with a standard HMDI cable.



The only other issue that (from the top of my head, at work at the moment) that may cuase it is older ATI drivers. Anything from the 11.x range will be fine with HDMI audio, so check your drivers.

"Open your email inbox" button in WLM launches in a browser

I use Windows Live Messenger and Windows Live Mail. Until yesterday, when I clicked on the "Open your email inbox" button in Messenger, it opened Windows Live Mail and I could sync my folders. Yesterday, I signed into another Hotmail account using Firefox, and for some reason this Hotmail account was added to my list of accounts in Windows Live Mail. I deleted that second account from the list, but now, when I click on the 'open your email inbox' button, it opens my original (main) Hotmail in Firefox, not Windows Live Mail. I don't want to use a browser, I want to use Windows Live Mail, but I have searched through the options in both programs and have been unable to find a tickbox which says something like 'Launch Windows Live Mail when clicking on "Open your email inbox" button in Windows Live Messenger'. I am using Vista. Can anybody help?

Reply 1 : "Open your email inbox" button in WLM launches in a browser

I want WLM to open through live messenger also but it opens in a browser....what's going on... I want it back !

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

How do I get rid of the Bing Bar?

Dell Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E7500 Computer
Inspirion 545s 00
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
6GB Memory
750GB Hard Drive

I have been so careful not to download the bing bar, but somehow I guess I missed it and it is presently on my computer. I do not want it. I've tried moving it with Revo Pro Installer; going through Control Panel>Uninstall a Program; and also CCleaner Uninstall. All attemps render the same result -- "Bing Bar cannot be uninstalled at this time. Try Again Laer."

How do I get the thing off of my computer?

Thanks for any help.

Julea

Reply 1 : How do I get rid of the Bing Bar?

Open Internet Explorer, then click on "Tools" in the upper left, choose "Manage add-ons". When that opens, click on the "Search Providers" link on the left side. Next, click once on the "Bing" toolbar listing in the main window. It should show "enabled".. Next, in the lower left side of that same window, click on the "Disable Suggestions" blue link.. Bing should now be disabled. You can also UNCHECK the box next to "Search in the address bar" to disable it further.

Close Internet Explorer and see if you can uninstall the Bing toolbar from the Control Panel.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 2 : How do I get rid of the Bing Bar?

Oh, I thought that sounded so easy, but guess what, the only thing showing is Google.

Julea

M11x r2 play starcraft 2

I just recently bought a Alienware M11x R2. I installed Starcraft 2 and whenever I play the game on 1v1, 5-8 minutes into the game the screen freezes and the whole laptop crashes and switches off, then switches back on like it just got restarted. All the setting in the game are at the lowest setting they can be.



Does this happen to anyone else?

Can someone please tell me whats wrong with the M11x?

Is their a stronger, more powerful graphics card I can install into this Alienware M11x R2?

What can I do to successfullly run Starcraft 2 on this M11x?



Thanks for helping me.

Reply 1 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2


Quote:








Originally Posted by rajuj13
View Post

I just recently bought a Alienware M11x R2. I installed Starcraft 2 and whenever I play the game on 1v1, 5-8 minutes into the game the screen freezes and the whole laptop crashes and switches off, then switches back on like it just got restarted. All the setting in the game are at the lowest setting they can be.



Does this happen to anyone else?

Can someone please tell me whats wrong with the M11x?

Is their a stronger, more powerful graphics card I can install into this Alienware M11x R2?

What can I do to successfullly run Starcraft 2 on this M11x?



Thanks for helping me.



Are you overclocking in the BIOS?

Reply 2 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2

there shouldn't be any problem running sc2, I run mine on med-high with 4vs4 and i get 25-29 fps through out the game.



Which drivers are you using and do you have it white-listed?

Reply 3 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2

Did you update your Bios, update your graphics drivers, and whitelist SC2 so that it plays with the 335m and not the intel graphics card?

Reply 4 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2


Quote:








Originally Posted by GamingACU
View Post

Did you update your Bios, update your graphics drivers, and whitelist SC2 so that it plays with the 335m and not the intel graphics card?



To be honest, I am a novice at computers. If you dont mind explaining me everything in detail and how to do everything, I would greatly appreciate it.



I dont know what "Whitelist" and I dont know what is BIOS or how to access it.



Yes I did update my drivers and my Nvidia card from downloading the updates drivers off of Dell.com



I have the Alienware M11x R2. The "R2" does not have the "Binary change" button on "F6." So I dont exactly know how to change from intel graphics card to nvidia graphics card, and vice versa.



SC2 at lowest graphics is not working for me, i dont know why.



I do not know how to "Over-clock" my system, so if someone can please tell me how to do that to, it would be nice to know for M11x R2.



I have the following in my computer:



Intel Core i7CPU U640 @ 1.20 GHz 1.20 GHz

4.00 GB installed RAM

Windows 7 home edition 64-bit operating system

Intel(R) HD Graphics

NVIDIA GeForce GT 335M

300GB SSD





Thank you everyone for helping me out with this problem.

Reply 5 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2

The simplest troubleshooting step would be to create a shortcut to SC2 on your desktop if you've not done so already. Right click on it and higlight the "run with graphics processor" option then select "high performance NVIDIA processor" and see what happens.

Reply 6 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2

definitely read up on this thread for white listing:



M11x R2 NVidia Optimus Issues/Whitelisting Problems



and this one for overclocking:

How to Supercharge the M11x with Core i5/i7 UM CPUs





as for SC2 - read the whitelist thread (and youtube video), follow instructions and see if your problem persists. Other than that, SC2 was huge for threads back in July when it released, most info is found there (And subsequent threads) for the best settings.



Enjoy (btw, nice 300gbSSD)

Reply 7 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2


Quote:








Originally Posted by saturnotaku
View Post

The simplest troubleshooting step would be to create a shortcut to SC2 on your desktop if you've not done so already. Right click on it and higlight the "run with graphics processor" option then select "high performance NVIDIA processor" and see what happens.





Yes sir I did exactly what you said and about 5-8 minutes into a 1v1 sc2 game at low settings, the screen freezes and the computer crashes and restarts. I had done 3 attempts and all 3 times it crashed.

Reply 8 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2

Others here will help you, but just fyi SC2 runs great on the m11xr2, so it's a software issue, not the laptop to worry about. You can get by playing the game with stock cpu speeds by updating your nvidia driver, but if more fps is important to you then you will need to overclock your cpu in the bios, preferably at the highest stable settings.

Reply 9 : M11x r2 play starcraft 2


Quote:








Originally Posted by m11xuser9999
View Post

Others here will help you, but just fyi SC2 runs great on the m11xr2, so it's a software issue, not the laptop to worry about. You can get by playing the game with stock cpu speeds by updating your nvidia driver, but if more fps is important to you then you will need to overclock your cpu in the bios, preferably at the highest stable settings.



I just used the "Can you run it?" From nvidia.com, and it says that my m11x r2 has only 1.2ghz and sc2 requires 2.6ghz.

How do I increase the GHz in m11x?

BIOS virus?

I recently reformatted my friend's computer that was riddled with viruses, etc. The virus protection installed on it had been hijacked by a virus, so the computer was totally open to anything and everything for months at least. After reformatting and rebooting a few times, the computer was running fine. However, a few days later after rebooting, the hard drive stopped reading entirely. It doesn't show up in the bios at all. The pc is a newer model Asus bought within the last couple of years, so it makes me doubt hardware failure. Also, from my understanding, even if a hard drive fails, it is typically still readable. I haven't been able to check out the pc yet myself, but as soon as I do, I'll make all the usual checks for connections, etc. The pc was also not touched after reformatting, so theres no reason why it should be a loose connection. I'm aware that biosviruses are very rare, but being as it was totally exposed over a long period of time with constant internet connection, I consider it a possibility. I've also not heard this to be a symptom of any bios viruses, but I do hear they can easily leave a pc totally incapacitated. Thoughts, suggestions, ideas are greatly appreciated.

Reply 1 : BIOS virus?

Well, it's looking like hard drive failure is the most likely problem. Will update when I get a chance to check it out.

disable and limit the extern USB drive connect to Mac

I do not want to the external USB drive can connect to MAC.
Or just only allow a size less than 4G usb external drive to connect to Mac other size greate than 4G do not allow .
How can I do it ???
Please advice

Reply 1 : disable and limit the extern USB drive connect to Mac

The short answer is this is not possible. The longer answer is that it would be a significant amount of work, and even then, would be less than 100% effective. Maybe if you were connected to an LDAP server running Mac OS X Server, but probably not even then.

Both Windows and Mac OS X are designed around the idea of making things easy for the user, not necessarily allowing an administrator to lock things down.

Mac Office applications

I will be using a Mac 3,1 with OSX 10.6.6. I am wondering if anyone has run Neooffice and compared it to MS Office for Mac and how each are different (strengths and weaknesses). I have MS Office 07 on my windows machine and I have seen that the writer (MS word equivalent) is comparable, but excel is ahead compared to the simple Calc (i believe that is excel on openoffice) which lags behind. Is that the same case for Neo Office?





Also, are there any good resources for a person to learn about Macs as I am a windows guy.

Reply 1 : Mac Office applications

Neo Office is a fork of open office. It is typically a bit behind the newest version of open office/ libre office.

Reply 2 : Mac Office applications

You will also run into issues if you go with anything other than MS Office when opening Excel files that have specific macros. I am not sure if you use macros or not but I do for my job and they are compatible with Excel only. OpenOffice, iWork, Neo Office, etc. don't work with them leaving with nice, big, empty cells.

Reply 3 : Mac Office applications


Quote:








Originally Posted by wave
View Post

Neo Office is a fork of open office. It is typically a bit behind the newest version of open office/ libre office.



But from what I have read, Open office for mac doesn't integrate that well as NeoOffice?



As for macros, I haven't used them yet and I don't think I would in the future but I guess it is nice to know about the problem.

Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

Ok was thinking to myself that my UMBP got way too damn hot. and was getting tired of the heat. So I started out just taking the bottom of the notebook case off and blowing it out. Then I started looking at it more closely, the fans have no direct access to fresh air intake. Yes I know the speakers/keyboard are meant for that. But the tinkerer in me fired up the drill press and with a 11/32 bit started making some small holes areound the fan intake and ram. Well my MBP now runs so much cooler before I was running 44-55C on mbp just idling and light web browsing. No I am so so happy to say my MBP is running at 35-40C. That is significant decrease in temps.



Will post some pics later.



I do not recommend this to anyone. I have a second bottom case and did this entirely as an experiment.

Reply 1 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

Man, are those holes ugly... but they once again show how the unibody sucks for heat dissipation.



I'd put some sort of wire net or something over them to make sure nothing large gets in...



The only vent is it at the back, and you are right, there is no proper air flow in there. Actually, in the 17-inch unibody matte option, that heat flowing out the back screws with the screen backlight, giving you two dark patches up the screen, perfectly aligned with the two main fans. With the glass display, the glass mostly negates the effect of this.



I commend you on drilling your unibody case. A rare feat. They are, however, expensive to replace, although they cost Apple very little.

Reply 2 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

its a good idea/way of cooling your macbook but many people wont drill a hole into their macbook.



have you tried using arctic silver 5 (thermal compound) on your macbook?

it usually lowers temps by 4-5degrees in most laptops as it helps get rid of heat better.

its very cheap and probably wont void your warranty and you dont need to drill into your 1800 laptop.

Reply 3 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease


Quote:








Originally Posted by EnterKnight
View Post

Man, are those holes ugly... but they once again show how the unibody sucks for heat dissipation.



I'd put some sort of wire net or something over them to make sure nothing large gets in...



The only vent is it at the back, and you are right, there is no proper air flow in there. Actually, in the 17-inch unibody matte option, that heat flowing out the back screws with the screen backlight, giving you two dark patches up the screen, perfectly aligned with the two main fans. With the glass display, the glass mostly negates the effect of this.



I commend you on drilling your unibody case. A rare feat. They are, however, expensive to replace, although they cost Apple very little.



They sure are ugly. But hey get the job done and after the issues I have had trying to get Apple to fix it i figured what the hell. I have some mesh I use on my snowmobile air intake that I think will work wonders there. I will get that installed once I get abck to canada next week.



I have another lower case with no holes. And they are easy to change out. If warranty works need taking care, of a simple swap is all I have to do.

Reply 4 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease


Quote:








Originally Posted by owais
View Post

its a good idea/way of cooling your macbook but many people wont drill a hole into their macbook.



have you tried using arctic silver 5 (thermal compound) on your macbook?

it usually lowers temps by 4-5degrees in most laptops as it helps get rid of heat better.

its very cheap and probably wont void your warranty and you dont need to drill into your 1800 laptop.



Well Artic silver will void your warranty also, so really it is a toss up. But because I have another lower case I figured what the hell, it's worth a shot.

Reply 5 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

Have you tried identifying which of the 3 holes cools the notebook most , then 2nd, 3rd

Reply 6 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease


Quote:








Originally Posted by Tinderbox (UK)
View Post

Have you tried identifying which of the 3 holes cools the notebook most , then 2nd, 3rd



No I haven't but I will try some tape and run some test. I would bet the 2 fans would be the biggest help. The RAM was just an after thought.

Reply 7 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

I wonder if drilling those holes will void the warranty?

Reply 8 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease


Quote:








Originally Posted by HLdan
View Post

I wonder if drilling those holes will void the warranty?



Pretty sure it will if it gets sent in with that bottom case. Luckily I have 2. lol.

Reply 9 : Little underside case mod = Big temp decrease

D: I would of done smaller holes and on a CNC machine :| That looks ugly, But good thing the bottom is always on something.

* * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *





I hereby make my first post on the official flightsim thread



Links to patches, addons and other things, enjoy!







Freeware addons:

- www.fsnordic.net

- www.avsim.com

- www.sanalpilot.com

- www.projectopensky.com

- www.ifdg.net

- www.projectai.com

- www.flightsim.com

- www.fsimzone.com

- www.flightsim.no

- www.flightsimworld.com

- www.woai.com/

- www.meljet.com

- www.editvoicepack.com

- www.sg-flightware.de

- www.schiratti.com/dowson.html



Payware addons:

- www.precisionmanuals.com

- www.flight1.com

- www.fsquality.com

- www.aerosoft.com

- www.swedflight.com

- www.commerciallevel.com

- www.captainsim.com

- www.fiftynorth.com

- www.leveldsim.com

- www.phoenix-simulation.co.uk

- www.aeroworx.com

- www.eaglesoftdg1.com

- www.imaginesim.com

- www.flytampa.com

- www.simflyers.net

- www.sim-wings.de

- www.simmarket.com

- www.fsbuild.com

- www.fsnavigator.com

- www.hifisim.com

- www.fspassengers.net



Flight Yokes:

- http://www.aviationmegastore.com/?ac...info&art=73021

- http://www.chproducts.com/retail/y_fsyusb.html



CFG tweaks

- FS9 cfg tweaks

- FSX cfg tweaks



Patches:



- FS9 9.1

- FSX SP1

- FSX SP2



So What do you think about flightsims?

What addons do you use?



Let the discussion begin

Reply 1 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

i've been waiting for this thread..!



it's also good cause FS2004 and FSX are good "benchmark" games for notebooks



i'll wait to see what other ppl have to say..



i also run FS2004 for the same reason (and i have FSX and a new IFL90)

Reply 2 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

Glad this thread got started. Just purchased a 1530 dell, and downloaded the demo for FSX. Want to get FSX but was not sure on how it would run on a 8600GT.



The demo seemed to run fairly smoothly with all settings set to High. Was not sure if this was because of the demo, or if FSX was not the resource hog it was rumored to be. Would love to get some input before buying FSX on the type of settings I could run with the XPS. On a side note, I just played a little bit on overclocking the 8600GT on 3dmark 06 and was able to get a 5400 with the core at 550 and the mem at 810.

Reply 3 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

good post, you have some good links there.... been messing around with flight sim since the DOS days, still remember when flight sim 4 came out and i couldn't wait to get a copy, good stuff.... It's always been my benchmark for when to upgrade, and have spent a fair bit of cash to keep all the latest versions running properly... loved every minute though, even back when I upgraded from 1 MB to 2MB of VRAM or added a math CO-Processor to my 386DX cpu to get better frames per second... Currently have FSX running great on my Toshiba X205, love it! Great piece of software, tried all the others (Xplane, etc) over the years, but none other have ever overly impressed me.

Reply 4 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *


Quote:








Originally Posted by Mrtudball
View Post

Glad this thread got started. Just purchased a 1530 dell, and downloaded the demo for FSX. Want to get FSX but was not sure on how it would run on a 8600GT.



The demo seemed to run fairly smoothly with all settings set to High. Was not sure if this was because of the demo, or if FSX was not the resource hog it was rumored to be. Would love to get some input before buying FSX on the type of settings I could run with the XPS. On a side note, I just played a little bit on overclocking the 8600GT on 3dmark 06 and was able to get a 5400 with the core at 550 and the mem at 810.





The final version actually runs a bit better than the demo, and the patches have only improved it, so if you are happy with the demo's performance, you should get very similar performance! Good stuff!

Reply 5 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

I updated the links!



About FSX, the final version runs much better with SP1 installed as be77solo pointed out

Reply 6 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

Thanks be, what type of input device would you recomend getting. I really do not want to use the keyboard for my flight controls.

Reply 7 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

What about this one:?



http://www.chproducts.com/retail/y_fsyusb.html

Reply 8 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

Hey, just curious n0elia, you ever fly for real? I've actually got a 1961 Piper Colt, bought it last year, having a blast with it! In the process of an interior upgrade, and looking at a possible engine swap, bumping up to an O-320 150hp, versus my stock 108hp.... anyway, sorry off topic! but, love flight sim! Wish the sim catagory was more active as in the past!

Reply 9 : * * OFFICIAL Flightsim thread * *

FSX does run fairly smooth on the 8600m gt.. but remember it's also a processor hog and SP1 is most advantageous if you have a dual core.



default FSX is pretty much way better than default FS2004, but with my addons , fs2004 looks even better than fsx and performs silky smooth. but i do miss some features of FSX.. maybe i will install both.



fsx alone also takes up 15gigs on hd !



FS2004 with A LOT of addons including GIGS of scenery takes up 8gigs on my HD





add fs2004.com to that list! .. good forum topics

Surprise! Not all USB port drivers are the same!

I was having connectivity issues with a USB WIFI network adapter on a Windows 7 eMachine pc, so I decided to see about upgrading the drivers. Eventually found an upgrade that worked well. Then it finally dawned on me that depending on which USB port I used, (the pc box has 2 in the front and 4 in the back) different drivers and settings were being utilized. The 2 in the front had the correct and latest drivers, while the 4 in the back were not working at all, or with an earlier driver, and the speed was less and spradic. This really surprised me! I had thought that once a driver for any device is installed, the device will install itself and work the same in all the other USB ports! NOT true! Why isn't this a well known fact?

So I decided to upgrade the rear USB ports network adapter drivers to match the front USB's, only this time I ran into a hitch. In the device manager, rather than just selecting "Update Driver" and picking my path through to the correct location I had placed the latest and greatest driver files, I decided to "Uninstall" first. Big mistake, I'm guessing.

After the uninstall I updated the drivers the same way and path as I did in the front; but now I am getting the yellow warning flag in device manager on the adapter: "This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)" In the Details tab, under the property "Install Error", the value I get is "The required line was not found in the INF. E0000102" But which .inf file? There are half a dozen of them utilized, and all seem to be fine.

I know I could just restore to an earlier time, but I'm trying to find out what has happened. Any thoughts?

Hardware/Software:
eMachine ET1831, 64 bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1.
Linksys WUB600N v2 Dual-Band Wirelss-N USB Network Adapter, Ralink driver v. 3.1.8.0 12/28/2010

Reply 1 : Surprise! Not all USB port drivers are the same!

that the port itself actually needs.

Some (if not most) computers have both 1.1 and 2.0 (and some 3.0) USB hubs that power the accessible port you plug your peripheral into - they will not accept drivers that aren't compatible.

Looking at your device manager shold have showed you both open host controllers and enhanced controllers which should have been a helpful clue to you BEFORE making your mistake.

The wifi adapter has ITS OWN DRIVERS which are seperate from the USB drivers and not to be confused with them.

Suggest you either roll back the drivers to what worked or restore to just before your experimentation.

Reply 2 : Surprise! Not all USB port drivers are the same!

I think I may have written my original post poorly.

I did not touch (or update) any of the USB controller drivers, they all work fine.

I'm only trying to get the same newest wifi network adapter drivers updated and working in all 6 usb ports, so that no matter which port I stick the wifi network adapter into, it will work the same way, with the same wifi network adapter drivers and versions installed.

What surprised me was that Device Manager showed me different wifi network adapter drivers and versions installed, depending on which port I stuck the wifi network adapter in! Some wifi network adapter drivers in the back were Microsoft, some were Ralink. Some wifi network adapter drivers were 2009 versions, some 2010. All were different, depending on where I put the wifi adapter! Some worked , some didn't, some poorly. Any other usb device stuck into any of the usb ports, i.e. webcam, mouse, usb speakers, flash disks, all work fine and the same no matter which port I picked. It's only the wifi network adapter that has differences. Why?

I can stick the wifi network adapter into either of the 2 front ports, and it's fine.

Now if I try sticking it into the back ports, I get the yellow warning flag on the wifi network adapter icon in the device manager, with the "not able to load drivers required" warning, even though I used the same path to update the drivers as I had when the adapter was in the front ports. What I had done different, was when I had the adapter in any of the 4 rear ports originally was select the "Uninstall - to uninstall the driver(Advanced)" button first before selecting the "Update - To update the driver for this device" button on the driver tab for the wifi adapter.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

UPDATES - March 21, 2011

NOD32 - Update 5970 (20110321)
2011-03-21 11:33
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-5970?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 1 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.99.1602.0
Released: Mar 21, 2011 05:30 AM UTC
Microsoft Security Essentials Version:2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 2 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.99.1624.0
Released: Mar 21, 2011 01:30 PM UTC
Version:2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 3 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

TrojanHunter Ruleset Update - Mar 20, 2011(2)
You should have 371934 rules
http://www.misec.net/forum/board/RulesetUpdates/1300684829

Reply 4 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Last updated: 2011-03-21 08:39:
http://www.emsisoft.com/a2/changelog/personal//?showmalware=updates
http://www.emsisoft.com/en/support/malware/

Reply 5 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Last updated: 2011-03-21 18:37:
http://www.emsisoft.com/a2/changelog/personal//?showmalware=updates
http://www.emsisoft.com/en/support/malware/

Reply 6 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

CA AV Definitions v36.1.4249 (Engine Version 36.1.8226)
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/detail.aspx?CID=51155
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/default.aspx

Reply 7 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Update time: Mon Mar 21 12:28:02 2011
Signature number: 6553634
Update time GMT: 1300696082
Version: 7.36710
http://download.bitdefender.com/updates/bitdefender_v9/plugins/update.txt

Reply 8 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Update time: Mon Mar 21 20:30:20 2011
Signature number: 6554463
Update time GMT: 1300725020
Version: 7.36715
http://download.bitdefender.com/updates/bitdefender_v9/plugins/update.txt

Reply 9 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

The latest iAVS update was published on: 21.03.2011 - 110321-0
http://www.avast.com/download-update
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

Reply 10 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

The latest iAVS update was published on: 21.03.2011 - 110321-1
http://www.avast.com/download-update
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

Reply 11 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

149.646 - Ad-Aware 8.2

150.331 - Ad-Aware 9.xx, 8.3. - March 21, 2011

MD5 checksum for Ad-Aware core.aawdef is 58e87f305e8e0691cd0d4c616cecfe9d
http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/securitycenter/blog/definition-file-update-for-adaware-106

Reply 12 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

149.647 - Ad-Aware 8.2

150.332 - Ad-Aware 9.xx, 8.3. - March 21, 2011

MD5 checksum for Ad-Aware core.aawdef is 77b97c771af73151fc9a2705599bd5f2
http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/securitycenter/blog/definition-file-update-for-adaware-107

Reply 13 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Version: 7.11.05.05
Date: Monday, March 21, 2011
Time: 11:48 AM GMT+01:00
http://www.avira.com/en/pages/index.php
http://www.avira.com/en/threats/section/vdfhistory/index.html

Reply 14 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Version: 7.11.05.19
Date: Monday, March 21, 2011
Time: 7:20 PM GMT+01:00
http://www.avira.com/en/pages/index.php
http://www.avira.com/en/threats/section/vdfhistory/index.html

Reply 15 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

March 21, 2011
http://www.grisoft.com/us.download-update
http://free.avg.com/us-en/download-update

Reply 16 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Date: 3/21/2011
Database version: 6117
Fingerprints loaded: 314642
http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Reply 17 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Date: 3/21/2011
Database version: 6121
Fingerprints loaded: 314824
http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Reply 18 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Definitions 8771 - March 21, 2011
http://research.sunbelt-software.com/
http://www.sunbeltsecurity.com/definitions.aspx

Reply 19 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

2011-03-21 15:30
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-5971?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 20 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

2011-03-21 20:04
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-5972?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 21 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Core Definitions 6638 - 03/21/2011 09:05AM PDT
Trace Definitions 4450 - 03/21/2011 09:05AM PDT
http://www.superantispyware.com/definitions.html

Reply 22 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Virus Signature File
Monday, 21 March 2011
http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeusers/downloads/clients/?

Reply 23 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

DATs 6292 - 3/21/2011
Super DATs 6292 - 3/21/2011

http://www.mcafee.com/apps/downloads/security_updates/dat.asp
http://vil.nai.com/vil/datreadme.aspx

Reply 24 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Daily Updates
Symantec Endpoint Protection 11
Norton AntiVirus 2008 and newer

Virus Definitions created 3/21/2011
Virus Definitions released 3/21/2011
Defs Version: 130321b
Sequence Number: 121406
Extended Version: 3/21/2011 rev. 2
Total Detections (Threats & Risks): 11052816

Multiple Daily Updates
Symantec Endpoint Protection 11
Norton AntiVirus 2008 and newer

Virus Definitions created 3/21/2011
Virus Definitions released 3/21/2011
Defs Version: 130321b
Sequence Number: 121406
Extended Version: 3/21/2011 rev. 2
Total Detections (Threats & Risks): 11052816
http://www.symantec.com/business/security_response/definitions/download/index.jsp

Reply 25 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Definition updates for Quick Heal Pro 2011 Daily Updates
Virus Database: 21 March 2011
http://www.quickheal.co.in/updates.asp

Reply 26 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

Latest ClamAV? stable release is: 0.97
ClamAV Virus Databases:
main.cvd ver. 53 released on 14 Nov 2010 09:58 :0500 (sig count: 846214)
daily.cvd ver. 12865 released on 20 Mar 2011 16:21 :0400 (sig count: 74880)
bytecode.cvd ver. 142 released on 08 Mar 2011 13:28 :0500 (sig count: 40)
safebrowsing.cvd ver. 28101 released on 21 Mar 2011 06:45 :0400 (sig count: 659361)

http://www.clamav.net/

Reply 27 : UPDATES - March 21, 2011

This is a security release

More inmformation here
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/apsb11-05.html

Direct Download link for Firefox, Safari, Opera
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/install_flash_player.exe

Direct Download for IE users.
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/install_flash_player_ax.exe

Uninstaller of the old versions of Adobe Flash Player
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html

Pick the proper version for Flashplayer for your browser of choice on the above link. Do not confuse it with shockwave which is a different program.

Note: Please remember to uncheck any unwanted 3rd party toolbars/programs during installation IF they are offered to you.

Version check
http://www.adobe.com/products/flash/about/

ASUS X52F-X2 Can this be upgraded?

Hi all,

New to laptops and bought this one (my first lappy) as a backup machine and I love it. Came with an i3 processor. As my specs show I have no idea what it has for a motherboard or who makes it. The memory modules are a mystery too as I don't who makes them just they are 4GB of DDR3. Just wondering though can it be upgraded, and what are the possibilities for this machine? It's still under warranty so I won't open it up yet.

Thanks,

Jakeman97

Reply 1 : ASUS X52F-X2 Can this be upgraded?

You can run CPUz and that should tell you the brand of ram.

ASUS probably made the motherboard, but I'm not sure.



I think you should be able to upgrade the CPU to any dual core of the same gen as your i3 (but you have to stick to moblie CPUs, make sure the socket matches).



HDD should be easy to upgrade (Would be nice to get an SSD).



If you have intel graphics, you wont be able to upgrade that.



If you want to take the whole upgrading thing really far, you can upgrade the screen. This would be a harder than a ram/hdd/cpu upgrade.

Reply 2 : ASUS X52F-X2 Can this be upgraded?

Thank you moral hazard for the info. I'll start looking things up now.

jakeman97

Reply 3 : ASUS X52F-X2 Can this be upgraded?

If it is anything like my K52f then the i7 will work.

Reply 4 : ASUS X52F-X2 Can this be upgraded?

The CPU can actually be upgraded on this machine, and it will take one of the dual core i7 processors. As Hazard mentioned, just be sure to get one of the mobile processors that fits the socket. As for the memory, it can take up to 8 GB of RAM (2 slots). You can always upgrade things like the hard drive relatively easily as well.

Key Removal/Reattachment

Any Idea how to reattach the left side of my space bar to its white clip. The left side of the bar was unattached from its clip. Everything works fine, I just have instability on the space bar on the left side.



Thanks

Reply 1 : Key Removal/Reattachment

Can you call Dell Support?

Ask for a keyboard replacement.

Reply 2 : Key Removal/Reattachment


Quote:








Originally Posted by pepemosca
View Post

Can you call Dell Support?

Ask for a keyboard replacement.



Actually got it to snap back in, wasn't that easy though. Thanks for the help

Reply 3 : Key Removal/Reattachment

I haven't detatched the keys on my alienware yet, but the keyboard feels just like the one on my old acer.



Asuming that its like my acer:

Just detatch the key completely, and you will see that there is a metal bar/hinge.

You need to slide this hinge into place (its pretty obvious to see where it goes), and after that you click the spacebar into place (it should give 2 clicks, one from each side).

Reply 4 : Key Removal/Reattachment

Had you check this video: YouTube - Laptop Keyboard Key Repair Advent Alienware Asus Averatec Clevo eMachines Founder Fujitsu

Or this video: http://www.laptopkey.com/Guides.php/...%2051/M15x/AW5



I don't know which one is the correct one... Sorry!

VcmMgrNotification64.exe

After updating windows through automatic updates, this error message has appeared everytime I open any program. "VcmMgrNotification64.exe - System Error. The program can't start because ATL100.DLL is missing from you computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."
Currently using Windows 7 Premium Home Edition on Sony Vaio.
Erm any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Reply 1 : VcmMgrNotification64.exe

Seems to be a Sony program: http://systemexplorer.net/db/vcmmgrnotification64.exe.html
The dll is from Microsoft, but probably came with that Sony program: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/8kche8ah.aspx

Two ways to handle this:
1. Reinstall that Sony software from the CD.
2. See if it still present in the folder mentioned in http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4183599/visual-studio-2010-doesnt-start-missing-atl100-dll. If so, register it again.
3. If not present, see if you can download it from some unofficial site or copy it from another PC.

It's unlikely this is related to Windows update, however. Maybe you used some registry cleaner?

Kees

Monday, March 21, 2011

How can i know that which users in my MSN list Block me?

Hello Friends,

Can any one help me that how can i know that who block me in my MSN lists?

I want to know that who blocked me in MSN and can i contact again through email or MSN IM....

Please let me know. Your help is really appreciated for me.

Many Thanks!

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Razer Imperator

Just ordered this mouse, and I just wanted to get some opinions and experiences from those of you that either have one or have used it before. Thanks!

Saturday, March 19, 2011

How to recover partition on my mac?

I have no idea why partitions on my mac disappeared. Maybe it is overwritten or damaged by a virus. I have spent all day searching the internet for solutions. Much software is suggested to help and I chose Nice to Recover Data for Mac. Frankly speaking, it can truly recover the partitions and the data on them but I can open them. Anything I did wrong with it? How to use it properly? Can anyone tell me?

Linux hates my machine? Unable to install.

Ok, I've dabbled in Linux a few times in the past, but it was on different computers than what I'm using now. Before, I was able to install/dual boot with Ubuntu 10.04 just fine. Now, however, I am unable to install (at least patiently) any version/spinoff of Ubuntu (possibly other distros too).

I first wanted to try PinguyOS. I didn't have any CDs so I used UNetBootin to copy the ISO to my flash drive. I was able to boot into it successfully, but when I tried to install PinguyOS to my drive alongside Windows 7 I ran into some issues. After choosing Install, I can choose my language, then when I click Forward, I get the spinning pinwheel which indicates loading. Except it lasts forever. A few times I've managed to get to at least the portion to choose a partition, but I backed out of it because it was taking too long.

First off, I have two 500gb WD HDD in a RAID 0 configuration. I partitioned off 30gb which is unallocated space to be used for Linux. After my multiple failed attempts at installing PinguyOS, I tried Ubuntu 10.10. Same problem. It takes FOREVER to even get passed choosing a language. I never even got to choose a partition. In fact, I would click the buttons to download updates, click forward, and it would sit. For hours. Nothing ever happened.

So, is there something wrong here? I didn't have these issues before on previous computers. I don't see why it takes so long to go between menu screens to install Linux. I understand it may take awhile to recognize a 1tb HDD, but it shouldn't take hours on end.

Note: This is a custom computer I built, running 64 bit Windows 7 Ultimate. All hardware is compatible with 64 bit and I attempted to install Linux 64 bit distros.

Any ideas? Sorry for the length and if you need specifications let me know. Thanks!

Adobe Updater launches every time I boot a Mac

Adobe Updater launches and asks (via Little Snitch) to go Online to Adobe every time I boot one of our Macs - how can I stop this? It's getting irritating.

Reply 1 : Adobe Updater launches every time I boot a Mac

click Forever and Deny.

Stops the whole process from asking again

P

Free and easy way to convert MP4 to WMV?

Just wondering if there's a free and easy way to convert MP4 to WMV? I have some MP4's I want to view on my Xbox 360 but it won't play them. Thanks.

Reply 1 : Free and easy way to convert MP4 to WMV?

MediaCoder



It's based on Handbrake, but with an eye towards ease of use.



--L.

Reply 2 : Free and easy way to convert MP4 to WMV?

Thanks! +1

need help removing spyware

hello im hoping someone here can help me im trying to remove some really bad spyware for a freind somehow he installed software called cleanthis and i cant remove it as soon as the pc tries to boot it runs a av scan that gives a whole bunch on faulse positives and then boots into windows once i try to run any web browser it wants me to buy the full version for $100 and dosent let me connect to the web at all i have tried to boot into the recovery partision to reinsall the operating system but i keep getting boot failure any suggestions

Reply 1 : need help removing spyware

Try Griff Suggestions at this link: http://forums.cnet.com/7726-6132_102-5098912.html

Does that "anti-virus" Scan if you start in safe mode or safe mode with networking?

Try to do the scan that are adjusted by the Griff's post in safe mode.

Remember that when you run rkill DO NOT RESTART THE COMPUTER! If you do you will have to run it again.

I hope that this will help in some way.

Reply 2 : need help removing spyware

thanks for the help i will try that the only problem is i cant boot into safe mode when i press f8 on start up it says boot failure

Reply 3 : need help removing spyware

That can be a problem.

Try to use a Recuse CD at can be found at this link: http://www.avira.com/en/support-download-avira-antivir-rescue-system

Download the ISO and burn it to a CD or CD-RW.

On the infected PC change the start order to get the PC to start from the CD first in the boot order. The Rescue CD has a from of Linux on it. So it should boot as you are not going to Windows.

This link explains how to change it if you do not know how:http://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/change-boot-order-xp-vista/ It is a simple change. You will have to change it back when you are done.

It might do the trick. As I have not heard of that rouge so I cannot be sure.

HP notebook lagging

Hi,

My notebook starts lagging when I'm watching videos (on YouTube), browsing the internet and when I'm playing a video game.

The temperature is getting higher (~46 degree Celsius) when I run a program which has high graphical requirement. (measured by Hard Disk Sentinel)

When I put it on the charger the lagging stops for 1-2 minutes but it starts again.

Could anyone help me? Could anyone recommend a program (or programs) to fix this problem?

Thank you very much in advance.

OS: Windows XP
Notebook: HP Compaq 6720s

Reply 1 : HP notebook lagging

but note I am no expert.

First thing, your note that "when I'm watching videos (on YouTube), browsing the internet and when I'm playing a video game". Did you mean 'and' as in, all three together? If so, you may be pushing this machine too far.

But even if not, what about this Windows XP? Did this notebook come with XP pre-installed, or with Vista Home Basic or Vista Business? The reviews I see show this HP Compaq 6720s to be a Vista machine targeted at the business market as a budget notebook. So it is not designed for heavy video work. But if you removed Vista and installed XP, where did you get all the XP drivers from?

The graphics card, the Intel GMA X3100 is a shared memory card. It shares the system's RAM, so any heavy video, (films or games), is going to tax it if you are using any other software at the same time.

The typical processor is a 1.6 Ghz dual core, and that again is going to work hard.

All of this hard work is going to increase the temperature, and no software apps can fix that.

It seems you are running these games and/or films off the battery. That will put pressure on the battery immediately, and that might also be a reason for the running hot that you are experiencing.

Make sure all air vents are free of dust and are clear of obstruction.

When you are watching videos or playing games, reduce all other open applications to zero if you can. That might free up RAM.

Internet lagging can be a different cause, from malware infection to slow internet connection, to too many browser add-ons, and so on, but that is part of the normal experience of using and maintaining Windows' systems, so no need to go into detail of that here.

All in all this seems a good little notebook, but it is, after all, just a notebook and is not going to win any sprint races.

Take care of it and it should do you well for those business uses it was designed for.

Mark

Reply 2 : HP notebook lagging

Thanks for your reply. happy

I removed Vista and installed Windows XP. I don't know where I got the drivers.

The processor is 2.0 Ghz dual core. I'm not doing everything at the same time (playing & watching videos)

I just had igxpdx32.dll crash.. I don't know what it means. There might be something wrong with the video driver.

Thank you for your reply again happy

Reply 3 : HP notebook lagging

http://forums.cnet.com/7726-19411_102-5101754.html

Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

So I will be joining grad school later this year (hopefully) and I was wondering if I should go with the Alienware m11x R1 or R2 or the base model Alienware m15x with the Core i3 processor. I will be using laptop for gaming, programming, photoshopping and random web designing. Thanks in advance

Reply 1 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

Here are some comments Ive made about m11x performance ect from other threads if they help:



"dude honestly just buy the r1 and save 400 dollars...or if you have one dont upgrade its not worth it!! i am playing all my games on an r1 at high or max settings with very decent (25-40) fps and my temps stay in the low 50s even with the gpu and cpu overclocked! Benchmark results for gaming consistently show only around a 5 to 8 fps increase between the lowest and highest end m11x and some games the core2duo actually outperforms the i7! Dont waste your money..."





"Ive watched a full 1080p trailers on youtube and it is very speedy, slight buffering but if you give it a ten second head start or so it shouldnt catch up. (this has more to do with internet speed anyways) I dont really work too much with powerpoint but that shouldnt cause you any problems and I leave multiple firefox windows and do other things while they are open with 0 slowdown. I cant imagine youd be disappointed with the speed and if you do find that it isnt multitasking at the level you want it to you can always upgrade to 8 gb of ram down the road. If you feel like you will be doing such intense multitasking (music, hi res videos, HUGE image files, IE, powerpoint and want to be able to do these things simultaneously than you may want to save up some more money for an i5 or an i7.



I dont want to guarantee you anything because Id hate you to order and then be disappointed but think of it this way...if you get it, and it doesnt perform as you like, you have ninety days to return for a refund."






This is all just my personal opinion and is only based on my experiences. Obviously the m15x is going to be a better machine but is larger and much more expensive. Your decision needs to be based on the intensity of the photo editing, designing, programming ect. If it is all very casual than the r1 should be plenty and also save you a bundle of cash.

Reply 2 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

Get the R1 refurbished with a floating 15% coupon from Dell Outlet.



Invest in an additional year of support if you want, make sure to get a nice large external monitor for all that programming. I use a 23" on my desktop @ 1920x1080 and the m11x has no problem running output to this.



You'll want the m11x because lugging anything else around to class is going to be weird and a hassle. Plus, for only $400 from the outlet, you have the money for the extra screen and whatever.



Reply 3 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

R1 from the outlet along with the coupon is a great deal, however I don't think it'll do fair well on photoshop (I haven't tried it on mine yet). Might wanna look @ the R2 in the outlet.

Reply 4 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

Terrible advice and much false information in this thread, despite the best of intentions. Much of the usage you've outlined is sufficiently broad enough that an m11x r1 -might- adequately meet your needs.



However, if "photoshopping" ( your only specific), means running cs5 you will find the m11x r1 to be a frustrating performer relative to it's cost. This is particularly true if you shoot in raw or plan to do much video encoding. You should also plan to add an exterior monitor as the gamut on the m11x is pretty low, and the screen size is really tough to work on.



An i3 equipped m15x will handle cs5 more effectively and eliminates the neccesity of an external monitor, though you may still decide to use one.



If you get into the specific games/programs you plan to use and how heavily you plan to use photoshop you'll get some really solid advice here.



For many the m11x r1 is the perfect machine. Hey, some people just play WoW while others only play crysis. It all comes down to what YOU need to do with it.

Reply 5 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

In the future, will it be possible for me to remove the core i3 processor and attach a new core i7 processor?

Reply 6 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school


Quote:








Originally Posted by Desi Munda
View Post

In the future, will it be possible for me to remove the core i3 processor and attach a new core i7 processor?



nope. once it's in it's in: no changes.

Reply 7 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

Yep



You can swap the cpu and gpu in the m15x in about 30 minutes. Youtube has a few videos that will take you step by step through replacing the gpu. Check the m15 boards, there was a thread on the front page about this issue in the last day or so.

Reply 8 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school

Well I wouldnt call any of the advise here "terrible" advise as above poster states. What I said before "Your decision needs to be based on the intensity of the photo editing, designing, programming ect. If it is all very casual than the r1 should be plenty and also save you a bundle of cash." which Augusta basically just restated using more words. Keep in mind the sizes of the laptops. The m15x is a large laptop, over 10 lbs with the power adapter. If you are running around during the day going to classes, ect you may want to consider what it will be like lugging that bulky beast around with you. I dont have an r2 but I think that an r2 with an i7 processor and 8 gigs of ram should perfectly meet you performance needs and portability needs. Here is a link to a cs5 benchmark done with the r2. It scores very well:

Alienware M11x R2 Review - Photoshop Benchmark



Wanted to also comment that I have read user reviews from students using the m-series laptops as classroom laptops having lots of trouble with the glossy screen under bright classroom fluorescent lights. They make anti glare guards but alot of them use speckling which is known to give some people headaches and motion sickness when reading text. (doesnt do this for me but for some people it does) so just consider the fact that depending on your lecture/classroom environment you may be seeing alot of yourself in the "mirror".

Reply 9 : Help me choose an Alienware laptop for grad school


Quote:








Originally Posted by Augusta
View Post

Yep



You can swap the cpu and gpu in the m15x in about 30 minutes. Youtube has a few videos that will take you step by step through replacing the gpu. Check the m15 boards, there was a thread on the front page about this issue in the last day or so.



oh really? nice! though i dunno if buying a desktop processor will work on it

Friday, March 18, 2011

M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

Has anyone used the Razer Mamba with the M15x?



I installed the lastest drivers from Razer's website. I also downloaded the firmware updater from Razer's website. The first problem that I noticed was at the end of the firmware update process, it gave me an error. But once I disconnected and reconnected the mouse, it let me finish the process. Now the real issue that I'm having is every time I press button 5 (sensitivity up, default) a window pops up that says "Notify !" "BinaryGFX access detected. Choose Yes to enable or No to Cancel." From what I can tell BinaryGFX is a feature to cut power consumption by using the onboard video instead of using the high performance graphics card. Does the new M15x even have this feature, I thought it was only on the older area 51. What's weird is Fn+F7 is the button press to bring up BinaryGFX, but when I press that I get nothing. Even though it triggers BinaryGFX, it still increases sensitivity, so it seems to me like somehow the these mouse buttons on the are just combo button presses, that Alienware already has allocated to trigger something else.



Also when I press button 6 on the mouse (sensitivity down, default) it triggers the Alienware command center. I haven't tried this in game yet, but even basic windows/websurfing is a PITA with this mouse right now.



Any suggestions?



Edit: Everything else on the mouse seems to be working correctly, though.

Reply 1 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

That's the same case with M17x + Mamba.

and it's not really an issue for me since I never had the need to adjust sensitivity on the fly.

If everything else is working fine, just enjoy the amazing mouse!

Reply 2 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

all you have to do is disable the osd_main.exe or stop osd from starting up using ccleaner. then ur buttons will work fine. works for me.. but it might cause problems for the touch strip. i dont really use it so its better for me to have a working up and down sensitivity lvl than the touch strip

Reply 3 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

How do you adjust the volume while gaming if needed then?

Can it be done via Mamba?

Reply 4 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

I use the mamba too with no issues, I just plug it in and use it. I never update the driver. maybe uninstall your new driver. not sure if you can use it to adjust volume.

Reply 5 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues


Quote:








Originally Posted by InappropriateName_3
View Post

I use the mamba too with no issues, I just plug it in and use it. I never update the driver. maybe uninstall your new driver. not sure if you can use it to adjust volume.



Thanks for the heads up, I got a Mamba arriving tomorrow. Glad I caught this thread in time.

Reply 6 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

yeah be very careful about updating the driver for the mamba, you can brick it very easily. I suggest don't update at all, just plug and play. All functions should work without any updates. I bricked 2 mambas doing the update, it would start updating and freeze and you will have a bricked mamba. Lucky I got mine at a local store, and the let me return it.

Reply 7 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

im not sure if u can change the buttons to increase and decrease volume but it doesnt really matter to me. u can try disabling osd and see if the volume control on the touchstrip works. i havent tried it but im guessing it will work but there will be no pop up on the screen showing the volume icon

Reply 8 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

Thanks for the comments. I'll be contacting Razer about this. There's no reason a high end gaming mouse that costs $130 shouldn't be compatible with a high end gaming laptop. Considering most customers of Alienware products are going to buy gaming mice, they should make it a top priority to make sure drivers and functionality allow the mouse to work as designed.

Reply 9 : M15x + Razer Mamba = issues

Mine must have come with the update cos straight out of the box with no drivers installed my Sensitivity Up button gives the error as described and Sensitivity Down changes output screen like pressing Fn+F6.



Does not really bother me since I never change sensitivity but hitting change screen mid game could be troublesome...



Edit: Have installed software and still got the same issues so I've remapped the buttons to ctrl and shift for use in games. No weirdness when I press them now.

Old JVC GR-AX30 can't turn off MUTE

I have an old JVC GR-AX30 videocam which I was using to move old tapes to DVD. I must have hit some switch because suddenly the videocam started to show an image of a speaker with a line through it (presume that it means that I turned on Mute). I can find NO way to turn it off but with it on, the sound doesn't transfer to the DVD. I've checked previous tapes that I transferred with sound and they too are muted so it isn't the tape.

HELP - Does anyone have any experience with these old JVCs that can tell me how to turn it off?

Dragon age 2 random freezes

I just got dragon age 2 and its really cool and all, but jeez, i can barely play 30 minutes at a time before it freezes and force quits. Anyone experiencing this issue or know of a patch or something they released to fix it?



I running on my desktop (specs bellow) with highest settings (x4AA not x8), and it runs very nice and smooth except for these totally random freezes.



Thanks for any help!

Reply 1 : Dragon age 2 random freezes

edit: bad post

Reply 2 : Dragon age 2 random freezes

I hear that DX11 causes some problems...?

Reply 3 : Dragon age 2 random freezes

Is there a way to turn off texture streaming... if it's on? I know that's an issue for some games.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

windows update

The windows update for my windows vista os has updates for third party drivers such as NVIDIA and LSI soft modem. How safe is it for me to download these drivers rather than searching for them at their websites myself?

Reply 1 : windows update

Microsoft does NOT produce drivers for third party devices. If you want drivers for your hardware, visit the computer manufacturer's website or visit the specific device manufacturer's website for that hardware.. Download drivers from there..

And more importantly, if your current device and drivers are working correctly, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".. On these forums, we've seen way too many problems with the drivers recommended by Windows Updates.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 2 : windows update

Wow.. and I thought my question was kinda

dumb and paranoid. Thanks for the advise

Grif- I won't be making any changes to my

computer any time soon though I'll probably

get a copy of drivermax just for a backup.

Thinking about exchanging my 2011 13" i7 for 13" i5 (virtualization question)

Will the difference in the 13" procs pose any difference in performance when I'm using my VM's? Right now, I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate for my torrenting and media needs and I was thinking about running BackTrack Linux to dive into some white hat hacking. Advice absolutely appreciated. Thinking about exchanging laptops first thing in the morning, a student's budget is tight nowadays.

Reply 1 : Thinking about exchanging my 2011 13" i7 for 13" i5 (virtualization question)

You shouldn't run into issues in going with the Core i5 13" MBP. Both processors in the 13" MPB are very capable and still ahead of last year's dual-core Core i7 15" and 17" MBP models. The only reason I went with the Core i7 model is that the Intel IGP can overclock higher on it (I think by about 300MHz), the i7 itself can overclock to a faster rate, and I wanted my notebook to come with at least a 500GB hard drive. Factor in those costs and the extra $300 was worth it for me.



I have a friend that went with the Core i5 13" MBP and he likes it, no performance issues under Parallels (though you are using VM, performance should be similar). He routinely has Windows 7 Home Premium up with SigmaPlot along with MATLAB and Excel open in Mac OS X without experiencing performance hiccups.

Reply 2 : Thinking about exchanging my 2011 13" i7 for 13" i5 (virtualization question)

Do you need VT-d?



The i5 (which is apparently a 2410M, although Apple try not to let on) doesn't have that instruction set.



It also doesn't do Trusted Execution, if you need that. All the other differences just relate to cache, clock speed & such.

Monday Night Combat 3 day pass giveaway

I realized I have this 3 day guest pass, and thought that maybe someone here would like to have it.

Just ask.

Reply 1 : Monday Night Combat 3 day pass giveaway

me please. steamcommunity.com/id/Koraboros



Thanks

Reply 2 : Monday Night Combat 3 day pass giveaway


Quote:








Originally Posted by Bearclaw
View Post

me please. steamcommunity.com/id/Koraboros



Thanks



I need your mail linked to your steam account or to add me as a Steam friend to be able to send you the pass.

Reply 3 : Monday Night Combat 3 day pass giveaway


Quote:








Originally Posted by xKindjalx
View Post

I need your mail linked to your steam account or to add me as a Steam friend to be able to send you the pass.



What's your steam? You can also just add me with the link I provided.

Reply 4 : Monday Night Combat 3 day pass giveaway

Pass already gone, Bearclaw got it.

Close thread please!

need a free recovery software

sir i need a good recovery software capable of recovering data upto 1 MB thank you

Reply 1 : need a free recovery software

From free to trial, these are over at http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7588_102-354911.html?tag=threadListing;forum-threads

"Lost and Found" from the Cnet Storage Forum.
Bob

Organizing home videos and photos

Hello,
I am starting to organize my home videos and photos and need some help. My hard drive has been backed up on several external hard drives which have been backed up again. So there are several copies of the same videos and photos in many folders all over the hard drives (I know, bad idea!)
Is there a software that can scan all my drives and folders and tell me which are duplicates so I can start deleting them and burn the rest on DVDs?

Thanks

wpl. attachment

I received a email with a ".wpl" attachment which I am unable to open. I do have "Flip4Mac" but no luck anyone have any ideas. Frankly I have never seen a .wpl before so what is it?

Reply 1 : wpl. attachment

Chances are it is just a list; in that case should be openable with TextEdit or TextWrangler; see http://osx.tribe.net/thread/e0221d0e-112e-467d-8a15-0cdc6bff10cc
The file is explained here: http://www.downloadatoz.com/file-extensions/wpl-file-extension.html

Reply 2 : wpl. attachment

Thanks for your suggestions but no luck :~( Neither TextEdit or TextWrangler seem to work.
I believe the file contains a picture that's probably why a Text App won't work.

Reply 3 : wpl. attachment

Windows Media Player Playlist
WPL
Filename extension .wpl
Internet media type application/vnd.ms-wpl
Developed by Microsoft
Type of format Playlist

WPL (Windows Media Player Playlist) is a computer file format that stores multimedia playlists. It is a proprietary file format used in Microsoft Windows Media Player versions 911.[1] The elements of WPL files are represented in XML format. The top-level element, smil, specifies that the file's elements follow the SMIL (Synchronized Multimedia Integration Language) structure.[2]

The file is saved with the "wpl" filename extension and its MIME type is application/vnd.ms-wpl.

Reply 4 : wpl. attachment

Contact the source and ask to save it differently if possible.

Reply 5 : wpl. attachment

I am having the same problem .. I downloaded the Flip4Mac & still no luck. Also I did notice that it doesn't seem very large of a file ,but I do know there is video & pics on it. PLEASE any help would be GREAT!!!

Reply 6 : wpl. attachment

are contained in the real thing.

As stated above, ask the sender to save the media in a different fashion.

WMV would be easy to open with Flip4Mac

P

HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

I remember reviewing the 8710w in '07:

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3864

Great machine, I wished I had the cash to pick one up at the time.



There is definitely more than one 8710w owner on these forums, I have seen a few people with it in their signature.

Reply 1 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

I reviewed the Penryn refresh of this with the FX3600M in 2008. Ahh the good ol' times.



http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4417



Compare this to the 8730w reviewed here and you see how times have changed. Still a great notebook nonetheless.

Reply 2 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

My wife has an 8710p, the SKU was a 1650x1080 brightview (glossy display coupled with the nVidia 320m) and it even shipped with a bluetooth pccard mouse. This is the only 8710 SKU I have seen with this screen and the mouse. I have an 8710w with the fx1600. Yeah they were great laptops but the video on both sucked immensly for 3D gaming. WoW would artifact like mad and boththe 320 and the fx1600 would get crazy hot in no time flat. I also have an HP Probook 4710s with lowly ATI 4330 graphics and while it doesn't get the crazy mad fps the nVidia quadros get, it stomps along, all day long playing WoW without a hitch and without crazy mad heat.

Reply 3 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge


Quote:








Originally Posted by wearetheborg
View Post

Yeah, even during web browsing my fan is always on (GPU at 55C, room temp 26C). I gather from 8710w - fan works all the time that its a driver issue.



I found the 2510P's fan was on and needed to get to < 51 degrees before it would switch into a quiet mode, else would whirr away trying. Was fixed with a modified ACPI dsdt table. Could do the same for the 8710W.

Reply 4 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

I got one last year for around $600 brand new.



Great laptop. I like the 1920x1200 resolution and the overall quality of construction.

Specs are obviously out dated but it's still good.



So far I've upgraded to 4GB of RAM, 500GB HD, Blu-ray burner and dual heatpipe GPU cooler.



I've been looking to upgrade the 1600M with either the 3600M or 3700M.

The 3600M seems to be a straight swap.

The 3700M works also, but it seems to have problems with BIOS. It recognizes only 256MB of RAM and the clock speeds are lower. Some have also reported problems booting and/or no image on screen.



If anyone has found solutions for these issues, please be sure to post.

I'd like to get a 3700M, but I need to know if the issues have been resolved.

Reply 5 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge


Quote:








Originally Posted by nando4
View Post

I found the 2510P's fan was on and needed to get to < 51 degrees before it would switch into a quiet mode, else would whirr away trying. Was fixed with a modified ACPI dsdt table. Could do the same for the 8710W.



The fan on my 8710w would frequently speed up and slow down, even during light work.

It happened when I updated the BIOS. It was very annoying so I went back to the older BIOS and now it's back to normal.

Reply 6 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge


Quote:








Originally Posted by Charles P. Jefferies
View Post

I remember reviewing the 8710w in '07:

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3864

Great machine, I wished I had the cash to pick one up at the time.



There is definitely more than one 8710w owner on these forums, I have seen a few people with it in their signature.



I'm still using an HP nw9440 which was basically the precursor to the 8710w and also a great machine --- it's what converted me to the HP Elitebooks.

Reply 7 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge


Quote:








Originally Posted by chrixx
View Post

I reviewed the Penryn refresh of this with the FX3600M in 2008. Ahh the good ol' times.



http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4417



Compare this to the 8730w reviewed here and you see how times have changed. Still a great notebook nonetheless.



You'll be saying the same thing when the 8740w comes out in 1-2 months.

Maybe even sooner.



Did they ever make an 8720w or did they skip it?

Reply 8 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

I also have an 8710w....used it for almost 3 years now with no problems (great machines). Is it possible to upgrade the 1600m videocard with a 3600m ? I don't feel the need to upgrade the whole laptop now because it works great for what i do except a bit o gaming.

Reply 9 : HP 8710w Owners' Lounge

Has anyone tried the higher FSB chips in an 8710w/p? Would be nice to put in a T9900 - it has the same socket and wattage...

GOM Media Player infection?

A number of recent reviews of the cnet GOM Media Player download have warned of spyware and malware in this program. One specifically mentioned a Win 32 worm.viking infection.

Has anyone encountered this problem?

Reply 1 : GOM Media Player infection?

patriot..

As I noted in a post within your duplicate thread, I will be locking this one. As also mentioned, duplicate posts tend to create confusion, in addition to duplicate work.

Thanks for your co-operation and understanding..
Carol

Panasonic FZ100 Bridge camera

I recently bought this camera and after a few trips out I am getting some very acceptable pictures. Apart from the normal family photos my main interest is wildlife, especially birds. The optical zoom on this model is 24x -with a little tweaking this can be slightly extended. Accessories listed include a convertor and lense and at a price of approx150+ I would appreciate advice from someone who has used this kit with this camera before I invest. Are there any problems and is there much extra weight and what about the quality of photos and what would the acceptable range be. I know a DSLR might be the answer but due to medical problems I like to travel as light as possible and spend more time in the fields rather than hides. Any help please. TWC.

looking for a program similar to interest vision

i need a program that is similar to interest vision but will run on windows 7. had interest on an old computer before it crashed and need to get something very similar for calculating interest and payments. any ideas?

Reply 1 : looking for a program similar to interest vision

What OS it ran on? It might very well be possible to run that in a virtual environment in your Windows 7. Did you try compatibility mode already? That would be easiest.

Kees

Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

Thought it could be a new thread here to see what's working on an Acer 4810T with the dedicated Acer Applications & Drivers from The New TIMELINE X series, and since Acer does not update the 4810T, since the new TimelineX is out by now!



:



******************************************************

The latest Intel Chipset Pilote (official & WHQL) v9.2.0.1025 (March 3rd, 2011):

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sear...88&FamilyId=40



Or latest Intel Chipset Pilote, (Unofficial & WHQL) v9.2.2.1015 (Dec 21, 2010)

http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel%20chipset.htm



******************************************************

:



Drivers:

















Apps:

























:

Apps:



NONE



*****************************************************





INTEL:

-Intel Rapid Storage Technology: Latest Intel (Rst) official & WHQL v10.1.0.1008 dated: Dec 15, 2010

Support for the Intel Rapid Storage Technology (Intel RST)



OR latest version

Intel (Rst) unofficial & WHQL: v10.1.2.1004

http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel%20raid.htm



*****************************************************

-Intel Wifi Link 1000 BGN to Intel Wifi 5300 cards:Published on March 04, 2011 v 13.5 64 bits (Intel PROSet/Wireless Software and Drivers for Windows 7)

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sear...WiFi+Link+1000





Intel Wifi-Link 1000BGN and 5100/5300AGN + Newest cards: v14.0.2.2 for x64bits x32bits & v14.0.2.1, (drivers only) Approx 50Mb & 200Mb...

http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel%20lan-wan.htm



*****************************************************

REALTEK:

-Realtek High Audio Definition: R2.58, (2011, March 02)

Realtek



-Realtek Card Reader Controllers: V6.1.7600.30126, 2010/12/01

http://218.210.127.131/downloads/dow...&GetDown=false



*****************************************************

Photo Camera Chicony Camera pilote For 1.0M and 0.3M: v1.1.97.717 from the 3810TZG series

or

Latest Acer Crystal Eye Webcam v1.1.124.1120:

http://www.station-drivers.com/page/camera.htm#chicony (thanks to Weinter)



*****************************************************

Acer 1830T series Lan Atheros LAN pilote v1.0.0.26,

Acer 5820TZG series Lan Atheros LAN pilote v1.0.0.33

or

Latest Atheros Lan Drivers:

Atheros AR81Family Windows Driver x86/x64(Win7,Vista, XP, Server 2003) v1.0.0.46 & v1.0.0.49 WHQL:

http://partner.atheros.com/Drivers.aspx (thanks to Michael)



*****************************************************

Reply 1 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

NEWS...:









1)

After a while it happens i tested some ACER VGA ATI Graphics from the Acer Aspire Timeline 3811TZG series listed on their site.



As the Specs & Size are exactly the same as the 4810TZG, i did install the x64 - VGA ATI Pilote v8.653.2.



Everything went fine even after multiple reboots and updated the WEI score. The switchable graphics works as usual with the Intel GMA Mobile Driver...but looks Acer stayed at version v8.15.10.1872 for most of the files for Intel.



As a reminder the last 4810TZG is the version of x64 VGA ATI Pilote v8.652.1







-PowerSmart Manager Acer PowerSmart Manager Application v4.07.3010,



Looks working fine, no issue...switchable graphics works as usual & Optical PM trigger normaly

So far, no battery issue....



-TouchPad Synaptics TouchPad Pilote v14.0.6...UPDATE







-LaunchManager Acer Launch Manager Application v3.0.07 & v3.0.05



4810TZG actual x64 Version is v3.0.02

Reply 2 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

For Synaptics Driver just grab the latest 15X ones from HP.

For Camera you have to find which device is in your system.

Reply 3 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T


Quote:








Originally Posted by weinter
View Post

For Synaptics Driver just grab the latest 15X ones from HP.

For Camera you have to find which device is in your system.



I'll have a look at HP site....



For the Acer 3811TZG Synaptics Driver, they do looks the same version as for the 4820T, and i did encountered some issue with the last one..



My camera is an Acer Chicony one, and Acer newest drivers won't work properly.

Reply 4 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

Latest Chicony drivers here

I use Chicony too quality sucks compared to SuYin

For touchpad driver just use the 15.X

Reply 5 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T


Quote:








Originally Posted by weinter
View Post

Latest Chicony drivers here

I use Chicony too quality sucks compared to SuYin

For touchpad driver just use the 15.X



Thanks, I'm assuming your using the Version 1.1.124.1120 of Webcam Crystal Eye... or Version 1.7.118.312 ?

Reply 6 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T


Quote:








Originally Posted by NoMa
View Post

Thanks, I'm assuming your using the Version 1.1.124.1120 of Webcam Crystal Eye... or Version 1.7.118.312 ?



Using Version 1.1.124.1120 of Webcam Crystal Eye

The 1.7 V install some bloated software and runs itself on startup something I hate programs to do.

Synaptics Driver from HP

Reply 7 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

Version 1.1.124.1120 work fine, looks a little more better frame rate at 680x400..is the 1280x800 frame rate is the same as 720p one from v1.1.92.624 Acer site?

Reply 8 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T

I don't know my webcam is a cheapskate low resolution chicony.

Reply 9 : Install Acer 4820T Applications ON an Acer 4810T


Quote:








Originally Posted by weinter
View Post

Using Version 1.1.124.1120 of Webcam Crystal Eye

The 1.7 V install some bloated software and runs itself on startup something I hate programs to do.

Synaptics Driver from HP



DL'ing from Hp ftp site right now...



So i understand that those HP drivers are made for the Synaptics Multi-Gesture TouchPad as the provided from Acer specs?!?